Author
|
Topic: Rulings and Questions: Part 49
|
TimeBeing Member
|
posted September 22, 2011 12:29 AM

quote: Originally posted by helpmehelpyou: so if its not able.. does the card go to the graveyard? get exiled? stay on top the library unable to get played?
in the case of Oman Machine it would stay exiled.
|
orcishartillery Member
|
posted September 22, 2011 08:27 AM

quote: Originally posted by helpmehelpyou: so if its not able.. does the card go to the graveyard? get exiled? stay on top the library unable to get played?
The first thing Omen Machine does is exile the card:"At the beginning of each player's draw step, that player exiles the top card of his or her library. If it's a land card, the player puts it onto the battlefield. Otherwise, the player casts it without paying its mana cost if able."
|
Volcanon Member
|
posted September 22, 2011 04:16 PM

How does Ixidron work with werewolves?
|
eXtremeEagle Member
|
posted September 22, 2011 05:51 PM
  
quote: Originally posted by Volcanon: How does Ixidron work with werewolves?
Due to having two faces, double-faced cards such as werewolves are always "face up." If a card attempts to turn one face down, it does nothing instead. __________________ The only thing necessary for evil to triumph, is for good men to do nothing.
|
Devonin Member
|
posted September 22, 2011 08:49 PM
  
It's really disappointing to me that it works that way. The fact that they happened to make the cards with images on the "front" and "back" shoudln't stop it from being able to be turned face-down. Flip cards can go face down. They might well have used the flip card style for transform if flip didn't already exist.I appreciate that it's problematic if you had say, multiple transform creatures all turned face-down, to track which 2/2 "thing" token was which, but still, I don't like mechanics being made useless because of actual physical card design.
|
Choshu Member
|
posted September 23, 2011 07:04 AM

How does a card like mana reflection effect double lands like Simic growth chamber.Does it give 2U 2G mana?
|
Zakman86 Member
|
posted September 23, 2011 07:15 AM
  
quote: Originally posted by Choshu: How does a card like mana reflection effect double lands like Simic growth chamber.Does it give 2U 2G mana?
Correct, in the case of Reflection. Things like MIrari's wake will make either UUG or UGG.
|
Choshu Member
|
posted September 23, 2011 08:11 AM

Another question regarding decimate.If an opponents creature has shroud by say lightning greaves, can I still kill the equipped creature? I'm assuming it all resolves at the same time, so I can't target the creature if they have equipped shroud?
|
Zakman86 Member
|
posted September 23, 2011 08:23 AM
  
quote: Originally posted by Choshu: Another question regarding decimate.If an opponents creature has shroud by say lightning greaves, can I still kill the equipped creature? I'm assuming it all resolves at the same time, so I can't target the creature if they have equipped shroud?
Close. You have to choose targets all at the same time. When you are choosing targets, even if you're choosing the Greaves, the creature with them equipped still has shroud.
[Edited 1 times, lastly by Zakman86 on September 23, 2011]
|
Choshu Member
|
posted September 23, 2011 09:55 AM

Thanks for the fast answers zak!Another one - Magus of the fortune, Kinda confused on his effect, pretty much I can play any top card revealed (and if its an instant can play at any time?) without paying mana cost? it doesn't say you can cast, but play, so somewhat confused.
|
eXtremeEagle Member
|
posted September 23, 2011 10:28 AM
  
quote: Originally posted by Choshu: Thanks for the fast answers zak!Another one - Magus of the fortune, Kinda confused on his effect, pretty much I can play any top card revealed (and if its an instant can play at any time?) without paying mana cost? it doesn't say you can cast, but play, so somewhat confused.
Magus of the Future? With him, basically you keep the top card of your library face up and treat it as if it was in your hand. If you draw a card at the start of your turn and the next card is a land, you can play that land as your one for the turn. If there's an instant on top of your library, you can play that card whenever you could normally play an instant. You still have to pay any mana costs as if you played it normally, and it still follows normal timing restrictions. Also, you can play the card as if it was in your hand but it's not technically in your hand. This means you can't suspend, cycle, discard, or do anything else that specifically requires it to be in your hand. __________________ The only thing necessary for evil to triumph, is for good men to do nothing.
[Edited 1 times, lastly by eXtremeEagle on September 23, 2011]
 |
Choshu Member
|
posted September 23, 2011 10:45 AM

Thanks Eagle!One last one - How does Riku, of two reflections work when copying cards with X cost. For instance, I cast green sun zenith and pay 6 for the X, then I use riku's ability to copy that. Does it copy it in its entirety(including what I paid for the X)? Or does it just copy the spell and X = 0. What about for a spell like Tooth and Nail? If I cast it and play its entwine cost, then copy it, do I have to pay for the entwine cost again?
|
Crash21 Member
|
posted September 23, 2011 03:47 PM
  
Okay, 2 Ertai, the Corrupted + Mimic Vat questions. If I have Mimic Vat on the board and Ertai dies, and I send him to the graveyard, and subsequently exile him with the Vat - can I then move him to the command zone instead of the "exile" zone, giving me 2 ways to put him into play (playing from the command zone or bringing him into play for a turn with the Vat)?Also, if I have exiled Ertai with the Vat - does this now mean I can counter a spell once a turn at instant speed by spending 4 mana (3 to bring him into play with the vat, and since he has haste, 1 blue to sac himself to counter the spell)? Thanks!
[Edited 2 times, lastly by Crash21 on September 23, 2011]
|
Zakman86 Member
|
posted September 23, 2011 05:44 PM
  
quote: Originally posted by Crash21: Okay, 2 Ertai, the Corrupted + Mimic Vat questions. If I have Mimic Vat on the board and Ertai dies, and I send him to the graveyard, and subsequently exile him with the Vat - can I then move him to the command zone instead of the "exile" zone, giving me 2 ways to put him into play (playing from the command zone or bringing him into play for a turn with the Vat)?Also, if I have exiled Ertai with the Vat - does this now mean I can counter a spell once a turn at instant speed by spending 4 mana (3 to bring him into play with the vat, and since he has haste, 1 blue to sac himself to counter the spell)? Thanks!
If you move him to your Command Zone, he's no longer under your Mimic Vat. Therefore, you can't copy him. However, if you leave him under the Vat, that's exactly how it would work.
|
Zakman86 Member
|
posted September 23, 2011 05:45 PM
  
quote: Originally posted by Choshu: Thanks Eagle!One last one - How does Riku, of two reflections work when copying cards with X cost. For instance, I cast green sun zenith and pay 6 for the X, then I use riku's ability to copy that. Does it copy it in its entirety(including what I paid for the X)? Or does it just copy the spell and X = 0. What about for a spell like Tooth and Nail? If I cast it and play its entwine cost, then copy it, do I have to pay for the entwine cost again?
When you copy a spell, it copies all modes and costs. If you entwined the original Tooth and Nail, the copy will be Entwined as well. Same with the X cost; if it's a copy, it copies the cost that's already on the stack, so you would have 2 GSZs for 6.
|
Asparagus33 Member
|
posted September 24, 2011 11:15 PM

Ok I've received really mixed answer's to this. How does Stitcher's apprentice work? Does it create infinite chumps or not?
|
TimeBeing Member
|
posted September 25, 2011 12:01 AM

quote: Originally posted by Asparagus33: Ok I've received really mixed answer's to this. How does Stitcher's apprentice work? Does it create infinite chumps or not?
You can chump with a creature and the use Stichers to creat a 2/2 and sac the guy you chumped with. And have someone to chump with next turn. But that's about it. About as exciting as reassembling skeleton. Not sure what you mean by infinite chumps.
|
Skwirlnutz Member
|
posted September 25, 2011 01:35 PM
  
Okay the new Reaper from the Abyss, does his ability trigger multiple times if multiple creatures died that turn?
|
Zakman86 Member
|
posted September 25, 2011 02:14 PM
  
quote: Originally posted by Skwirlnutz: Okay the new Reaper from the Abyss, does his ability trigger multiple times if multiple creatures died that turn?
No. It either triggers or it doesn't.
|
Skwirlnutz Member
|
posted September 25, 2011 03:00 PM
  
So if 3 creatures died that turn I can only destroy 1 creature?
|
Meddling Pimp Member
|
posted September 25, 2011 03:13 PM

quote: Originally posted by Skwirlnutz: So if 3 creatures died that turn I can only destroy 1 creature?
Right
|
Skwirlnutz Member
|
posted September 25, 2011 03:34 PM
  
So glissa, the traitor and nemesis mask, does that kill everything on my opponents side of the field ad glissa stay alive?
|
Devonin Member
|
posted September 25, 2011 03:43 PM
  
quote: Originally posted by Skwirlnutz: So glissa, the traitor and nemesis mask, does that kill everything on my opponents side of the field ad glissa stay alive?
The mask makes everything block her if able. She has 3 power and first strike and deathtouch. If they have say...10 creatures, all 10 block Glissa, you put out your 3 points of first strike damage, which will kill generally 3 creatures of your choice, then normal damage will make Glissa get ground into a fine paste by the other 7 creatures, and die. The way that works with Nemesis mask is with creatures with 'Stoning' (not that it's a keyword yet) which is the one things like Thicket Basilisk and Cockatrice have that just says "If a creature is blocking or blocked by this creature, destroy it at end of combat" Deathtouch just makes it so 1 damage is lethal damage regardless of toughness. tl;dr: Basically no, that doesn't work how you want it to.
[Edited 1 times, lastly by Devonin on September 25, 2011]
|
danieljloeb Member
|
posted September 27, 2011 06:42 AM

I have a question concerning Laboratory Maniac and Ad Nauseam.The following is a ruling on Ad Nauseam: "You may continue to reveal cards with Ad Nauseam even if your life total has been reduced to 0 or less. If you continue, you will continue to lose life, dropping your life total into negative numbers. As soon as you stop, you'll lose the game as a state-based action." I have Laboratory Maniac in play and I cast Ad Nauseam, and I'm drawing away with a life total of about negative 100 by the time I mill myself. When I try to draw another card with a negative life total, do I still win? Or do state-based actions check before Laboratory Maniac's ability triggers?
|
JoshSherman Member
|
posted September 27, 2011 06:59 AM
  
quote: Originally posted by danieljloeb: I have a question concerning Laboratory Maniac and Ad Nauseam.The following is a ruling on Ad Nauseam: "You may continue to reveal cards with Ad Nauseam even if your life total has been reduced to 0 or less. If you continue, you will continue to lose life, dropping your life total into negative numbers. As soon as you stop, you'll lose the game as a state-based action." I have Laboratory Maniac in play and I cast Ad Nauseam, and I'm drawing away with a life total of about negative 100 by the time I mill myself. When I try to draw another card with a negative life total, do I still win? Or do state-based actions check before Laboratory Maniac's ability triggers?
You do not win. While Ad Nauseam is putting cards into your hand, you aren't actually drawing them, so Maniac will not trigger. quote: From the Rulebook Glossary: Draw: Draw has two meanings in the Magic game. 1. A player draws a card by putting the top card of his or her library into his or her hand. This is done as a game action during each player’s draw step. It may also be done as part of a cost or effect of a spell or ability. If an effect moves cards from a player’s library to that player’s hand without using the word “draw,” the player has not drawn those cards. This makes a difference for abilities that trigger on drawing cards or that replace card draws, as well as if the player’s library is empty. See rule 423, “Drawing a Card.”
edit: Even if that did work, you'd still lose (assuming your life is below 1) because of this rule: 104.3f. If a player would both win and lose simultaneously, he or she loses. __________________ *Joshweek*Letter Bombs!*Facebook Me* *Logout- I had it first (second)!*
[Edited 1 times, lastly by JoshSherman on September 27, 2011]
 | |