Author
|
Topic: Need a Ruling?.. Come on in... part 3... the never ending post
|
GogettaEX Member
|
posted July 20, 2000 08:34 AM
sorry__________________ "Go away punk." - Trademark Check Out My eBay Auctions!
|
Magic1264 Member
|
posted July 22, 2000 08:15 AM
I have 3 questions:1. Can you pump morphling beyond it's toughness(say pump it to 10/0) after blocking is declared but before combat damage resolves? 2. Can you pump morphling to 5/1, have it deal combat damage, then pump it back to a 0/6 to save it's hide? 3. Can you pump morphling to something like a 0/10? 4. If you pump a creature while combat damage is being dealt, can i snuff out the creature so it can't deal that damage? 5. If someone sacrifices thankos deciever(excuse mispelling) to take rhox, can i sacrifice shock troops to deal deciever damage and therefore stop him from taking rhox? These may sound like amatur questions, but thank you for the help.
|
Magic1264 Member
|
posted July 22, 2000 08:44 AM
Also, Can you use pursuit of knowlegde with island saunctuary? Can you use the sanctuary(skipping your draw) and also put a counter on pursuit of knowledge? I say you can't since you are skipping that draw but my friend says you put a counter if you would draw a card, which he would. Please help.
|
King Masticore Member
|
posted July 22, 2000 09:28 AM
Hey Magic1264, those Morphling questions are answered in this post already. Just search this post I don't answer your other questions, coolio doesn't like that
__________________ Captain King Masticore, G.A.B. Indigo Team GTO Squirrel Farm Team Leader Squirrel Farm - GTO Team Homepage! ICQ: 81105259 AIM:KingMasticore1
|
coolio Member
|
posted July 22, 2000 05:47 PM
magic1264: 1. no, but you can try.. it dies as SBE the sec it resolving being 6/0 2. yes 3. yes 4. if you snuff it out before assign damage goes on the stack. 5. if you do this before the declare blockers step, yes.. you can avoid your rhox being taken, only after declare blockers step is something considered unblocked/not blocked. 6. Since the draw is replaced, you cannot use the same replaced draw to pay for other spells or abilities. [D'Angelo 00/03/03] the above statement is found at D'Angelo's Ruling Summary under Island Sanctuary.. so no.. ©
|
Maximus_Ar Member
|
posted July 24, 2000 04:46 AM
Ok I must admitt I didn't read all the old questions, hopefully no one has asked my question yet. I have a Tangle Wire out with 3 counters on it. I have 1 untapped land, the T Wire and a Morphling out. Can I put the T Wire on the stack, in response tap the land put the manna in my pool. The T Wire effect occurs and I tap it and the Morphling, leaving me with no untapped permanents. Then I do something else like bring Squee back into my hand from the graveyard. Before leaving upkeep I use the mana to untap the Morphling, does he stay untapped .
|
merfolksaprazza unregistered
|
posted July 24, 2000 12:31 PM
My friend put a ward of lights on my Spiketail Drake and I use rescue on it a few turns after what happens to the ward of lights?
|
Selvaxri Member
|
posted July 24, 2000 05:59 PM
if a creature with regeneration is nightshaded, so it's toughness is 0 or in the negatives, can it regenerate? or does it have to regenerated continually until end of turn, in which the scent of nightshade resolves? lmk
|
RhysticLynx unregistered
|
posted July 25, 2000 02:09 PM
Selvaxri: The creature is dead-rengeneration only works with effects that deal damage, not ones that lower the creature's toughness. merfolksaprazza: If a local enchantment's target leaves play, the enchantment is buried...in this case the ward of lights. However, if the protection granted from ward of lights was blue, the creature couldn't be targeted by rescue, and rescue would fizzle
|
WonderDud Member
|
posted July 25, 2000 04:50 PM
Ok coolio, i have 2 questions. They are both questions that someone always gives me a different answer for every time i play a game of magic.1. if i attack my opponent with any number of creatures (more than one) can my opponent block all of them with one strong creature, or just 1 for 1? i always thought it was 1 on 1 but people keep telling me differeint! 2. If i attack with a creature and my opponent doesnt block, can i play a wild might or might of oaks to pump up the damage without him being able to do anything about it? Plz EMAIL me with an answer because im not planning on finding it on the post! thanks!!
|
coolio Member
|
posted July 25, 2000 09:47 PM
maximus_Ar: yes morphling stays untapped if u untap him after wire resolvesmerfolksaprazza: if he didnt choose blue.. then the snap would be legal.. the ward of lights goes to its owners graveyard. selvaxri: one of the SBE is that if a creature's toughness is 0 or below.. it dies.. period.. no way to prevent this... if its toughness by some way or another resolved to below 1.. its in the graveyard. (or in some cases, another zone) rhysticlynx: pls let me do the answering.. sure your answers were partially correct.. I dont want ppl confused when others throw their halves in.. wonderdud: 1. generally.. blocking is done on a 1 to 1 basis..(given all blocks are legal).. of course.. there are abilities and effects that let creatures block more than 1 creature.. remember.. a card always has higher priority than the game rules. so if something in play. or a creature in play says it can block mroe than 1.. than it can.. 2. sure.. read up on combat steps in the rules.. its helpful 3. as for emailing you answers.. that I dont do.. if u want answers.. then check back.. everyone else does. © __________________ References DCI Certified Level I Judge Deck Help & Construction Moderator
|
Yawgmoth's Lackey Member
|
posted July 26, 2000 09:19 AM
OK, does Ali from Cairo have any errata? Or does he count as a ALi, A from, and a Cairo? __________________ cmoore@visi.net
|
Urza unregistered
|
posted July 26, 2000 09:50 AM
Ok.I have a Masticore in play and 2 mana Untapped. My opponent first vicious hungers my masticore then uses massacre. Can I still regenerate it?
|
Magic1264 Member
|
posted July 26, 2000 10:24 AM
I have a few more questions...Misdirection 1. Can you misdirection a withdraw? 2. Does a spells new target have to be legal? 3. Can you misdirect a Bribery at yourself? Withdraw 1. Does there have to be two legal targets out when i play it? 2. Does he pay the 1 before or after i pick the second creature? Miscellaneous 1. If you damage a Ancient Silverback with incinerate, then damage with lightning bolt, can it regenerate? 2. I have an understanding that sacrifice is the fastested ability in the game. So, when you sacrifice something, does the ability it used to sacrifice go on the stack or no? 3. If you have a legendary land out(lets say cradle), you play the second cradle, can you tap it for mana before it leaves play? 4. This may sound stupid, but is there anyway you can stop the ability of a vangaurd(just making sure)? Thank you for your time __________________ "When the eighth land chimes, Avatars rise..." - Blue/black avatar counter/destruction
|
RhysticLynx unregistered
|
posted July 26, 2000 01:58 PM
Sorry Coolio
|
coolio Member
|
posted July 26, 2000 05:24 PM
yawgmoth's lackey: Type=Creature - Ali-from-Cairo urza: yes.. it'll just be a 2/2 masticore until end of turn.. after massacre resolved, it was a 2/2 with 2 damage dealt to it.. magic1246: no, it has 2 targets upon declaration. 2. You choose the spell to target on announcement, but you pick the new target for that spell on resolution. [bethmo 99/11/30] If there is no other legal target for the spell, Misdirection does not change the target. [D'Angelo 00/07/24]
yes.. it does.. or misdirection doesnt change the target as D'Angelo's Ruling Summary says.. 3. bribery says target opponent. withdraw: 1. yes.. requires 2 legal targets.. (only removal of both targets will counter the spell) 2. he pays 1 after you declare the both creatures and the first targetted is back in its owners hand. misc: 1. incinerate stops a creature from regenerating if it dealt damage to the creature. so.. no.. it wont be able to regenerate if incinerate dealt it damage.(note prevented damage counts as never dealt) 2. sacrifice is usually a cost... costs are paid upon declaration of the ability/effects that require them. the ability however still goes on the stack.. 3. no.. thats no longer legal under 6th edition rules. 4. you mean defiant vanguard? unless you got a way to make the creature leave play, no.. it will be destroyed.. (note.. changing it from a creature to say.. an enchantment with soul sculptor wont prevent it from being destroyed.) ©
|
lurch_box Member
|
posted July 27, 2000 09:23 AM
does urza's armor stop the 1 damage from juzam djinn each upkeep?
|
gar Member
|
posted July 27, 2000 09:50 AM
Who gains control of the Saprolings my Verdant Force spawns each turn, me or the player whose upkeep it is?it says, "During each player's upkeep, put a Saproling token into play. Treat this token as a 1/1 green creature." thanks gar __________________ "It's true, it's true." ----Kurt Angle, 2000 WWF King of the Ring Captain Gar GAB Indigo Team gabtraders.com Gar's refs
|
Strategest Member
|
posted July 28, 2000 09:21 AM
gar: Lets see, verdant force reads somthing like this, "During each players upkeep, you may put a saproling token under your control. this token counts as a 1/1". You get all the tokens if the Verdant force is yours. Because the text is referring to the current controller of the card. And if they worded it a little differantly, it would work as you thought. "During each players upkeep, THAT PLAYER may put a saproling token under his/her control." You see what im saying?have a nice day btw, anymore q's feel free to email me. __________________ Aaron Samplawski *Strategest* thecouchguy@home.com --------------------
|
lotharkingofthehillpeople Member
|
posted July 28, 2000 10:50 AM
OK. Here is what should be an easy one, I just need it cleared up once and for all.In play: Urza's Mine, Tower, Powerplant and Candalabra of Tawnos. Can the candalabra be used with the Urza's lands to generate unlimited mana? I have never been able to get a clear answer on this, I need to stop the arguing. Thanks in advance.
|
Strategest Member
|
posted July 28, 2000 10:41 PM
Lothar, no you may not generate infinate mana. heres the candelabra: _____________________________________ Candelabra of Tawnos 1, Mono Artifact, Antiquities Rare X: Untap X separate lands. "Tawnos learned quickly from Urza that utter simplicity often led to wondrous, yet subtle utility." Illus. Douglas Shuler ______________________________________ most of the older cards didnt use the tap simbol. the "mono artifact" means you may only use the ability of the card once per turn. That is how you used to be able to tell if you could do it more than once. So you can generate quite a bit more with the candelabra, but not infinite. Nice gaming __________________ Aaron Samplawski *Strategest* thecouchguy@home.com --------------------
|
krazykid1331 unregistered
|
posted July 31, 2000 10:59 AM
If I have a dual nature out and I play a deranged hermit. I will have 8 tokens. If the hermits leave will i lose my 8 tokens ?
|
reinhart Member
|
posted July 31, 2000 11:46 AM
If i play skitter skirge and later play Kjeldoran Dead, will I be able to sack the skirge?
|
Selvaxri Member
|
posted July 31, 2000 05:30 PM
my opponent has eight creatures out, and i have Planar Collapse and Defense of the Heart out. it's my upkeep, if i declare that the collapse is going on the stack, will i be able to use the Defense? or what if i decide the Defense goes on the stack, will the creatures summoned by the Defense be eliminated by the collapse? lmk
|
mindcandy Member
|
posted August 01, 2000 07:27 AM
couple of retarded questions for you.1- I understand that giving a creature protection from a colour makes all enchantments of that colour illegal and hence fall off (ie if you reverent mantra green, rancors fall off) however if this is the case I'm trying to workout if/how/why if you chomannos blessing a creature and name white does the blessing immediately just fall off? I'm assuming no (otherwise white ward would've been stupid) however i' realy like to know the technicalities of it. 2- (not really a rulings question) how much power does a judge really have? a year or so ago i played in a big 1.x tourney ($500 1st is big here) and i was held about 2 days after saga became legal. I had noticed the yawg will/ritual combo and had designed a deck based pretty much on that kill. I rocked up confident in the knowledge that for once I had been the first (in aus at least) to find the new super stoopid combo deck tech. just before the registration i mentiooned it to a friend. He told me it didnt work and when I asked he said 'because it just doesn't. It's too stoopid and they'd never let me get away with it'. a bit concerned I asked one of the judtges. He said no i couldnt because it was stoopid. I was worried that they'd just turf me out if i contested so i just dropped and played in teh draft events instead. (Sorry about the long story) but my question is could they really do that? I mean just say NO we say the ruling doesnt work cos we dont like that? and if so how come it didnt happen with waylay since that's basically the same abuse of timing rules? __________________
|