Note: This is an archived topic. It is read-only.
  Magic Online Trading League Bulletin Board
  Noteworthy Topics
  Rulings Thread Part 21! Ask your rules questions here! (Page 9)

UBBFriend: Email This Page to Someone!

profile | register | preferences | faq | rules | memberlist | search


This topic is 13 pages long: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13 
This topic was originally posted in this forum: Magic Discussion
Author Topic:   Rulings Thread Part 21! Ask your rules questions here!
GMontag
Member
posted January 02, 2004 01:39 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for GMontag   Click Here to Email GMontag     
quote:
Originally posted by purplepat:
When are targets for the Storm copies of a spell with Storm chosen?

For instance, I have a Nantuko Husk on the board. I cast an Ornithopter and Shield Sphere, and then sacrifice them to the Husk. I cast a No Rest for the Wicked, returning the Ornithopter and Shield Sphere to my hand. I then replay the Ornithopter and Shield Sphere, and again sac them to the Husk. Thats five spells I've cast so far this turn. Now I cast Reaping the Graves, which allows me return a creature card from my graveyard to my hand and has Storm. This should let me return up to six creature cards from my graveyard, but I only have two in it right now. Do I have to identify all six targets as I cast Reaping the Graves, or can I stack the Storm effect so that I return one of the artifacts, then sac it to the Husk, then repeat that process five more times?


Well, Reaping the Graves returns the creatures to your hand, not to play, so you wouldn't be able to do that anyway. (Can't play permanents with stuff on the stack.) But you have to choose targets for the storm copies when they go on the stack.

spike777
Member
posted January 02, 2004 05:12 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for spike777   Click Here to Email spike777     
what in particular do you stifle in the dragon matchup?

EDIT: dunno if this is really a rulings question, but it seemed sorta like one.
__________________
i need 2x Underground sea. please help me get them. thanks. oh, and i want any and all P9 (cept twister, as oath doesnt need it).


[Edited 1 times, lastly by spike777 on January 02, 2004]


axn
Member
posted January 02, 2004 06:04 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for axn   Click Here to Email axn     
the leave play ability


spike777
Member
posted January 02, 2004 07:40 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for spike777   Click Here to Email spike777     
quote:
Originally posted by axn:
the leave play ability

oh, so do it when they have a ton of mana in their pool and they end up burning themselves to death if they cant animate the kill?

__________________
i need 2x Underground sea. please help me get them. thanks. oh, and i want any and all P9 (cept twister, as oath doesnt need it).


axn
Member
posted January 03, 2004 07:41 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for axn   Click Here to Email axn     
that's the idea
but usually it doesn't work that way
what're you going to tell your opponent?
"tell me when you have more than 20 mana in your mana pool"?
that'll usually tip them off enough for them to go for an alternate kill (usually verdant force)
and besides, dragon runs duress and fow

if you have the chance, stifle the very first leave play ability

ths_chess
Member
posted January 03, 2004 01:01 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for ths_chess   Click Here to Email ths_chess     
If I were to play an Armadillo Cloak on an exalted and it dealt 6 damage would I gain 6 or 12 life? Also if I were to have multiple Cloaks on one creature would I gain life for each one?


eXtremeEagle
Member
posted January 03, 2004 01:54 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for eXtremeEagle   Click Here to Email eXtremeEagle     
quote:
Originally posted by ths_chess:
If I were to play an Armadillo Cloak on an exalted and it dealt 6 damage would I gain 6 or 12 life? Also if I were to have multiple Cloaks on one creature would I gain life for each one?

The Exalted's ability triggers and gives you 6 life, then the Cloak triggers and gives you another 6, so you gain 12 total. And yes, multiple Armadillo Cloaks will let you gain life from each one.

__________________
when you fall in a bottomless pit, you die of starvation...

If in a one in a million chance you want to reach me, here's how:
AIM:lftm2004
E-Mail:squirrelbob@hotmail.com



DarkWaters
Member
posted January 03, 2004 06:40 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for DarkWaters   Click Here to Email DarkWaters     
Do I have to show my opponent my Removed from Game pile? Do I have to show just the faceup cards?

__________________
I am the flood, the tide that will not be stemmed

Hooked on Phoenix worked for me!


samus_ssp
Member
posted January 03, 2004 06:54 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for samus_ssp   Click Here to Email samus_ssp     
All cards are removed from the game face up. They are always avalible for anyone two see. The only zones that are not availble to everyone are the Library and Hand.


skizzikmonger
Member
posted January 04, 2004 07:22 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for skizzikmonger   Click Here to Email skizzikmonger     
If I imprint Fire/Ice onto Chrome Mox, can I add either red or blue to my mana pool like you can with multi colored cards?


samus_ssp
Member
posted January 04, 2004 09:09 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for samus_ssp   Click Here to Email samus_ssp     
yes


JujubeParade
Member
posted January 05, 2004 06:20 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for JujubeParade   Click Here to Email JujubeParade     
can a player make their own daze target itself?
can a counterspell be misdirected back at itself?


axn
Member
posted January 05, 2004 06:27 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for axn   Click Here to Email axn     
no
spells on the stack may not target themselves
you could however make the counterspell/daze target the misdirection and thus fizzle when the misdirection is placed into the graveyard


potm
Member
posted January 06, 2004 01:07 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for potm     
What happens if Shahrazad gets forked?

__________________
rationalist × metalhead × perfectionist × godless × happy

«I don't know half of you half as well as I should like;
and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.»
-J.R.R. Tolkien

"He had alot to say.
He had alot of nothing to say."



axn
Member
posted January 06, 2004 02:39 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for axn   Click Here to Email axn     
i think what happens is you take one minigame when the copied shaharazad resolves and when you finish that, take another one for the original shaharazad on the stack


GMontag
Member
posted January 06, 2004 08:51 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for GMontag   Click Here to Email GMontag     
I know there are no official rules for multiplayer, so I guess I'm just asking for convention. When a player dies in a multiplayer game, are all of his/her spells removed from the stack, or do they still resolve? It came up when during a game, one player was at 2 life and he cast a Wrath of God threatening to take out all my creatures. In response, I killed him with a Shock. Do my creatures still die?


Pail42
Member
posted January 06, 2004 09:11 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for Pail42     
The way my group deals with a player leaving a game.

1) all abilities they control on the stack vanish.
2) All permanents they own are removed from the game - with the exception of enchant world enchantments.
3) Any remaining permanents they control (ie stolen permanents ) are put in their owner's graveyards.

[Edited 1 times, lastly by Pail42 on January 06, 2004]


ReallyLongTypist
Member
posted January 06, 2004 09:21 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for ReallyLongTypist   Click Here to Email ReallyLongTypist     
Err, I thought you didn't die until the end of the phase?


nderdog
Moderator
posted January 06, 2004 09:24 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for nderdog   Click Here to Email nderdog     
quote:
Originally posted by ReallyLongTypist:
Err, I thought you didn't die until the end of the phase?

Been out of Magic that long, eh?

They changed that to you die when your life hits 0. I believe it was done in 6th Edition.

__________________
There's no need to fear,
UNDERDOG is here! :)

Bad Guys Fear The UNDERDOG - Flavor_of_the_Weak


teroknorevents
Member
posted January 06, 2004 09:29 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for teroknorevents   Click Here to Email teroknorevents     
quote:
Originally posted by GMontag:
I know there are no official rules for multiplayer, so I guess I'm just asking for convention. When a player dies in a multiplayer game, are all of his/her spells removed from the stack, or do they still resolve? It came up when during a game, one player was at 2 life and he cast a Wrath of God threatening to take out all my creatures. In response, I killed him with a Shock. Do my creatures still die?

This is how we play it as well. Anything the dead player owns is RFG along with them, including spells and abilities on the stack, then anything that player controls but doesn't own are put into their owner's graveyards.



da_spike
Member
posted January 06, 2004 09:42 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for da_spike   Click Here to Email da_spike     
What's the deal with artifact lands? Can you use them for all those abilities that sacrifice an artifact like Tinker?

__________________
Mathilda: Is life always this hard or is it just when you're a kid?
Leon: Always like this.
-Leon: The Professional



[Edited 1 times, lastly by da_spike on January 06, 2004]


grimmer
Member
posted January 06, 2004 10:24 PM     Click Here to See the Profile for grimmer   Click Here to Email grimmer     
Yes, you may sacrifice Ancient Den as part of the additional cost of Shrapnel Blast or Tinker because they are of the type "Artifact". They will be destroyed by Akroma's Vengeance because they are of the type "Artifact". They will not be destroyed by Oblivion Stone because since they are of type "Land" as well, they are not non-land permanents.


Master
Member
posted January 09, 2004 04:14 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for Master   Click Here to Email Master     
Just to be totally clear on this, im going to ask it.

Now, cloud of faeries/palinchron/greatwhale/etc.. have to come from your hand to untap, right? What if i Minds desire into them. It says play them as they were in my hand, so would i untap any lands? I dont think so because they are in the removed from game zone but i just want to make sure.

potm
Member
posted January 09, 2004 05:16 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for potm     
quote:
Originally posted by Master:
Just to be totally clear on this, im going to ask it.

Now, cloud of faeries/palinchron/greatwhale/etc.. have to come from your hand to untap, right? What if i Minds desire into them. It says play them as they were in my hand, so would i untap any lands? I dont think so because they are in the removed from game zone but i just want to make sure.


Because it says "play ~spell~ as though it's in your hand", doesn't mean it actually is. So therefore I would agree with your analogy; the Great Whale checks where it comes from and then determines whether the untap ability is triggered.

__________________
rationalist × metalhead × perfectionist × godless × happy

«I don't know half of you half as well as I should like;
and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.»
-J.R.R. Tolkien

"He had alot to say.
He had alot of nothing to say."



axn
Member
posted January 09, 2004 06:18 AM     Click Here to See the Profile for axn   Click Here to Email axn     
same goes with future sight
phage played from the top of the library will kill you


This topic is 13 pages long: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13 

All times are PDT (US)

This is an ARCHIVED topic. You may not reply to it!
Hop to:

Contact Us | MOTL Home Page

© 1996-2012 Magic Online Trading League

Powered by Infopop © 2000
Ultimate Bulletin Board 5.47e